Tags

, , , , ,


I had 3 great classes this Fall.  I hope to have 4 in the New Year.  Two will finish the week before the Christmas holiday time and one is over.  The completed class was about abstract painting.  The class was dynamic and most of the original 15 stayed for the whole session.  Some students came with design and art backgrounds and a few came with no prior art instruction.  It is hard to tell the difference as the beginners worked very hard and hounded the more advanced with questions and admiration.  Most were trying out abstraction for the 1st time so they all struggled.

Here are a few pieces they produced.

Barbara

Barbara

Bette

Bette

Cathy

Cathy

Cathy

Cathy

Jim

Jim

Gulnaz

Gulnaz

Some of the students reworked their images many times – I was quite impressed with their creativity, determination and resourcefulness.

2012 - 11 2014

Vigis – stage 2 – 2 paintings w/ very different textures and images made into 1.

 

vigis - stage 3

Vigis – stage 3 -> never stopping until the painting is satisfying.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vigis - stage 4

Vigis – stage 4

 

The assignments for the Fall were Texture, Colour and Collage. I am working on new assignments for the Winter Class in Abstraction.  Some of my students are returning and I have to create new areas to explore.  As Gulnaz said, ” the field is vast.”

I have my 1st Realism Class in January and am quite excited. We will be turning personal photos into paintings – an interior, a landscape and a portrait.  I was hoping for an Oil Painting Class but the school asked for Acrylic.  I made sure the class description mentioned Modern Realism so we can be playful.  It is more a class about composition and design elements than realism.

 

